Cupcakes for the Lemon Lover!

20130505_132837

20130505_134746

This week is Teacher Appreciation Week at the school. I love any excuse to bake so when they asked for volunteers to bring in food, I offered up some cupcakes! Lemon seemed like a nice flavor for Spring. I also recently purchased some lemon curd from Trader Joe’s and was anxious to use it in a recipe (so that I didn’t eat it right out of the jar!!). In the end, I made lemon cupcakes filled with lemon curd and topped with lemon flavored butter cream frosting! I added a little sliver of lemon to garnish it but also identify the flavor.

Lemon filled cupcakes
*adapted from a recipe by TidyMom.net

1 package of lemon cake mix
1 box of lemon instant pudding mix(4 serving size)
4 eggs
1 cup water
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 teaspoon of vanilla
2 Tablespoons of freshly squeezed lemon juice

Buttercream frosting:
I have to admit: I don’t really measure when I make frosting. I know the basic consistency so I just eyeball the ingredients. But I use the basic recipe from http://www.savorysweetlife.com. http://savorysweetlife.com/2010/03/buttercream-frosting/
To add a touch of the lemon flavor, I add 3 Tablespoons of lemon juice. Because you are adding some liquid, you may need to add a little more powdered sugar to reach the desired consistency.

For the curd: I purchased a small jar from Trader Joe’s. You can make it and there are many simple recipes online. Next time I will try that!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray muffin tin or line with cupcake papers.
Mix all the ingredients for the cake in a mixer on medium for 2 minutes.
Fill cupcake tins 2/3 full with batter.
Bake for about 20 minutes or until you can touch the top lightly with your fingertip and the cupcake bounces back. They should be a very light golden color.

Once they are cool-you will need to hollow out a well for the curd. They sell tools that do this for you but I use a small paring knife. You just cut in a circle and remove the cake. Very easy and no extra kitchen utensil needed. When they are all cored, spoon lemon curd in to the well.

Then you can frost anyway you like! I like using a large decorator tip and making a pretty swirl design. I then thinly sliced a lemon and cut the slices in to small pieces to top the cupcakes.

Next to chocolate, lemon is my absolute favorite dessert flavor! Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Cupcakes for the Lemon Lover!

    • Thanks! I just noticed I put jello and it’s actually pudding mix! So take note of that change before you try it..although now I’m wondering what adding jello mix would do…hmm..might have to try that next! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

