Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins!

June 027

I can’t even tell you how many things I’ve pinned on Pinterest. But I can count on one hand how many I’ve actually tried! Ok, maybe two hands. So my goal is to work my way through some of my recipes and projects. First up was double chocolate cherry muffins. Anyone that knows me, knows I love cherry anything. If you give me a package of skittles or starburst, I sort out all the red ones and eat them first(and, for the record, the green ones last!). I know, I’m weird. Cherry pie is my all time favorite dessert. MM also loves cherry but he hadn’t tried fresh ones. We picked some up at the market but he wasn’t fond of them in their natural state. Plus they had giant pits in them. I didn’t want them to go to waste and then I remembered this recipe. It originated here: http://everybodylikessandwiches.com/2012/08/double-up-double-chocolate-cherry-muffins/
However, I’ve adapted it because it called for yogurt and I didn’t have any. So I used an equal amount of applesauce. I also doubled the chocolate chips…isn’t everything better with MORE chocolate?? They are called muffins but they really have the consistency of brownies…which makes me wonder how they’d turn out if I baked them in a small pan next…hmm…. Anyway, I wouldn’t exactly say they were a healthy breakfast, they tasted more like a dessert but hey, sometimes you need a little breakfast treat!

Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins/Brownies
(recipe adapted from everyonelikessandwiches.com)
1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
1/2 c white sugar
1/4 c cocoa powder
2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1/3 c canola oil
1 egg
1/3 c milk
1 t vanilla
1/2 c unsweetened applesauce
1 c cherries, cut in half or roughly chopped depending on how chunky you want it
1 c milk chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 400F. Line a muffin tin with muffin papers and spray lightly with oil

On a cutting board, cut the cherries in half and remove the pits. Roughly chop or leave in large chunks depending on how large you want the chunks to be in your muffins. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt. In a small bowl, mix the oil, egg, milk and vanilla together. Pour the wet into the dry and use a wooden spoon to gently stir everything together. Fold in the applesauce, cherries and chocolate chips. Spoon batter into prepared muffin tin and bake for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the muffin comes clean. Let cool or serve warm. Makes 12 muffins.

June 029

One thought on “Double Chocolate Cherry Muffins!

  1. Pingback: Muffin Monday Banana Cherry Muffins DF | ritaLOVEStoWRITE

Leave a Reply

