Zumba for dummies

I’ve never understood the draw of Zumba classes. But judging from the packed classes I see at my gym, I am in the minority. If you don’t know what a Zumba class is, according to Zumba.com: “Founded in 2001, Zumba Fitness is a global lifestyle brand that fuses fitness, entertainment and culture into an exhilarating dance-fitness sensation! Zumba® exercise classes are ” fitness-parties ” that blend upbeat world rhythms with easy-to-follow choreography, for a total-body workout that feels like a celebration”
I take an exception to the “easy-to-follow” part of the above description. Also the “feels like a celebration”.
I recently decided to try a class out. Not because I really wanted to do one, I’m not really in to dance based fitness classes. But because I was out of town and the zumba class directly followed a kettle bell class I attended.
First, let me say, the instructor was phenomenal. She had the hip-shaking down! Me? Not so much. It’s a routine that I suppose after a while, you get the hang of doing and the moves will come naturally. I spent so much time trying to figure out where to put my feet that I really didn’t even break a sweat. I also felt so self-conscious about how dumb I looked, that I didn’t find it very celebratory. I really just had to laugh at myself!
I am glad I finally gave it a try. Sometimes when you push yourself out of your comfort zone, you might be surprised to find you actually like it! This was not one of those times. But still..
In the end, I learned what I already knew: that I would look silly doing a zumba class. And that I still don’t like dance based fitness classes! I will stick with boot camp, spinning and good, old-fashioned, running.

Leave a Reply

