Re-adopting good habits

I’ve let myself go. And it’s depressing. For lots of reasons and various excuses, I’ve put on some weight. Not a ton but enough to where I don’t feel good about the shape I’m in. My energy is lagging, my clothes are tight and I don’t feel like I get that exercise “high” as often as I used to.
So in an effort to get my butt back in shape and re-claim my good habits, I’m going to set up weekly challenges for myself. I was inspired by this post:
http://zenhabits.net/without/

The author of this blog gives up one thing each month for an entire year. At the end of the year, he will evaluate which things he can give up for good.
I’m going to start small though, hence the weekly challenge and not monthly. In addition to giving up some things, I will add some things. For example, one week I might give up white food products (pasta, bread, sugar) while adding in nightly hill sprints. Or I will give up Facebook for one week and try one new fruit or vegetable. Then at the end of each month, I will evaluate which ones I can continue with and which ones made me a very hard person to live with..

cat food

I’m hoping this will help me adopt some good habits that I can stick with, while getting rid of some bad habits. And maybe even realize I don’t miss those bad habits as much as I think I will!

So for my first challenge this week:** I will drive to the gym in the morning and IMMEDIATELY get out of my car and go in. I have this bad habit of getting there and sitting in my car for 10-15 minutes checking my email. I can’t figure out why in the hell I would get out of bed at 5am only to waste precious workout time! Except that I’m being lazy and procrastinating!
** With the help of my kids, we will go to the store and pick out one new vegetable to prepare and try for the first time.

Leave a Reply

