Two new recipes with varied results

I’ve been home all week with a semi-sick child and going a little stir crazy. So yesterday, I decided to try my hand at a couple recipes I pinned on Pinterest. One healthy, one..not so much.

The first one was Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Balls. The recipe was originally posted here:
http://www.bakeyourday.net/peanut-butter-oatmeal-butterscotch/
balls

The original recipe called for butterscotch chips but I went with chocolate…cause everyone knows chocolate makes everything better!

They were very easy to put together and no crazy ingredients. I did leave out the honey because I didn’t have any on hand.
The verdict? Just ok. The hubs and the kids hated them. Avery literally spit hers out. Sheesh, they weren’t THAT bad! Anyway, I’ll probably retire this particular recipe but I am on the quest for a healthy recipe similar to this so I will keep trying!

Next, I decided to make this for dinner:
http://www.plainchicken.com/2012/05/meatball-sub-casserole.html
meatball

Have you ever eaten pizza dip? No? Try it now!! Here’s a recipe from Brown Eyed Baker. It’s perfect for football season!! http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2012/02/01/pizza-dip-recipe/

My friend Julie originally introduced me to it and I’ve been hooked ever since.
So the casserole receipe is basically the pizza dip recipe but you throw some meatballs on there and cook it all together. And you use spaghetti sauce rather than pizza sauce.
The verdict? I loved it! Joshua liked it, Steve didn’t like it and Avery wouldn’t even touch it. Sigh…cooking for a family is frustrating!
picky

Leave a Reply

